Alameda County

Marriage Records, Marriage Licenses, Marriage Indexes:

Click here to search California marriages. Marriages
Click here to search California births. Births
Click here to search California deaths. Deaths

Alameda County Clerk-Recorder (Public Records Index)
1106 Madison Street, Room101
Oakland CA 94607
Order A Marriage Certificate Copy
Certificates for marriages after 1854 are available for $15.00 a copy.


History: Formed 1853 from Contra Costa and Santa Clara counties.
County Seat=Oakland

Communities in Alameda County where your ancestors may have had a wedding and lived: Alameda, Albany, Albrae, Altamont, Asco, Ashland, Baumberg, Berkeley, Brightside, Brooklyn, Brookshire, Carpenter, Castro Valley, Cherryland, Dougherty, Dresser, Dublin, East Pleasanton, Eden, Emeryville, Fairview, Farwell, Fremont, Hall Station, Halvern, Hayward, Kilkare Woods, Komandorski, Livermore, Lorenzo Station, Mattos, Mendenhall Springs, Midway, Mountain House, Mowry Landing, Murray, Newark, Oakland, Oakland, Piedmont, Pleasanton, Radum, San Leandro, San Lorenzo, San Ramon, Scotts Corner, Sorenson, Sunol, Union City, Verona, and Washington.

Newspapers: Wedding and anniversary announcements among other great genealogy clues, newspapers are often be the best way to find out where a marriage took place. The Library of Congress (free access) has archived 577 newspapers in Alameda County for these areas: Alameda, Albany, Alvarado, Berkeley, Castro Valley, Clinton, Dublin, Emeryville, Fremont, Hayward, Livermore, Mission San Jose, Newark, Oakland, Piedmont, Pleasanton, San Francisco, San Jose, San Leandro, San Lorenzo, Shoemaker, Sunol, Union City, West Oakland.

To add a genealogy website link to this page, please email me using the Contact page and put "California Genealogy Resources" in the subject box. Only legitimate genealogy websites will be considered.